Michigan Contracor License Classifications

Have you decided to work as a contractor in Michigan state? This article contains all the important details and points concerning the Michigan contractor license classifications. The difficulties are connected with the confusing kinds of licenses. Prior to applying for your permission, you must determine your desired kind.

So, this is the right page to help you choose one, as we have classified them into several groups. Each has its unique demands. Once you choose any, you are to pass through several simple steps, which are also analyzed in this article. Thus, you need nothing but a deep research here. Begin analyzing this article and hunt all your needed information.

Curious about how to begin your contractorship lawfully? You need nothing but a Michigan constructor’s permission. The licensure may seem difficult. We are here to help you be informed about every single detail, which may make your licensure easier.

What is a contractor?

A contractor is a person or an organization, who performs work for other people or companies on a contract basis. Any person or any company passing the licensure successfully can conduct as a constructor legally. There are various Michigan contractor license classifications, but the requirements are the same for them all. Below you can check them.

Demands for gaining a CL

Once you find yourself meeting the following requirements, you can apply for your CL and gain one:

  • Being at least 18 years old
  • Possessing a driver’s certificate
  • Completing constructor courses of 60 hours
  • Taking and paying for a licensure exam

Steps in the licensure process

Once you decide to become an authorized builder, you must go through the steps, we enumerated below. First, you should know that those permissions are issued by the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). So be attentive to fix the coming steps, you are to pass through:

  1. Your first step is to pass through pre-licensing courses of 60 hours.
  2. After, it’s time to complete the application.
  3. The next mandatory step is to submit the application attached with the required paperwork (certificate of completed education, driver’s certificate copy/ID card, $195 authorization fee).
  4. In the end, the LARA requires you to take the constructor exam.

Once you have taken your exam successfully you will get your license by mail.

Note: There are cases, when you may need a Michigan constructor authorization surety bond.

MI builder certificate classification

These certificates are of two categories. Each one has its subcategories. As it becomes confusing here, we have come to make it easier and find out what classifications CL has.

As we have already mentioned, there are two kinds of MI builder licenses:

  • Residential builder
  • Maintenance and Alteration

Both of them have the same requirements listed above.

Residential builder permission

This kind lets you carry out repairs and improvements on an existing home, additionally building new properties. This kind is the same as the general builder permit in other states.

Maintenance and Alteration CL

Once you decide to carry out specific trades, you will need this category. This type has its subcategories. Each of them is for a separate trade. In addition, you are allowed to hold as many licenses as you want, because there is no limit to the number. Whenever you conduct work without certification, you should probably be fined. Below we have brought the trades for which you will need this category of license:

  • Woodcraft
  • Cement
  • Digging
  • Insulation work
  • Stonework
  • Siding
  • Ceiling
  • Screens and storm sash
  • Gutters
  • Tile and marble
  • House wrecking
  • Swimming pools
  • Basement waterproofing

For all these types you need nothing but to complete a pre-licensing training course of 60 hours, then pass the exam successfully.

MI electrical licensure

Once you decide to conduct as an electric in this state you should improve your licensure at the state level with the LARA. This type of authorization has its subcategories:

  • Master electrician
  • Electrical constructor

These two are connected. To clarify, for becoming an electrical constructor, you must hold Master electrician permission. For this purpose there is a range of requirements:

  • Being 22 years of age
  • Holding journeyman’s permission for 2 years and more
  • Having experience of 12.000 hours, which you have obtained over six years

Once you meet these requirements and hold your Master EL, you can apply for your electrical CL. Here, you should also pass an exam.

MI plumbing permit

Like an electrical one, here also you can determine two kinds of permits. It is obligatory for a plumber to hold them. Those are:

As we mentioned above in the case of EL, here also these two types are connected. That is to say, you should hold a Master plumber’s permission for applying for plumbing CL. The requirements are as follows:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have journeyman plumber experience of 4.000 hours over 2 years
  • Pay the application fee of $40
  • Pass an exam
  • Be an owner of a sole proprietorship or an officer of a corporation

Whenever you meet these demands, you can apply for your PL.

Mechanical contractor license

Below you can find a set of jobs, for which mechanical contractor licensure is mandatory:

  • Hydronic heating
  • HVAC equipment
  • Ductwork
  • Refrigerators
  • Limited heating service
  • Unlimited heating service
  • Limited refrigeration and air conditioning
  • Unlimited refrigeration and air conditioning
  • Fire suppression

In addition, you should pass an exam for each of them.

HVAC certificate classification

Do you know what a HVAC service is? It is Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning. Whenever you find yourself being an expert and want to operate in this field, HVAC contractor permission will become obligatory for you.

Here, there are five categories of HVAC permits. Let’s determine them:

  • Apprenticeship- Whenever you choose this type, you may probably need to work under fully certified builder supervision. As an apprentice, you could make $13-$17 hourly.
  • Contractor- This kind of certificate is to allow you to work independently on various units. Here you may earn a bit more; that is $22 per hour.
  • NATE licensure- This kind of permit is an advantage for you. It is proof of the fact that you have additional training in the field. In this case, you will earn almost $25-$30 per hour.
  • EPA licensure- All the HVAC experts need this kind, as it allows you to handle the refrigerant chemicals.
  • Specialty licenses- Once you decide to work in the field of solar heating, cooling, solid fuel, vented gas appliances, and fuel gas piping, you must obtain this kind of permit. Here you are to earn about $20-$30 hourly.

HVAC authorization cost

As much experience you have as low your permit cost is. That is to say, for the first time you should pay $300. The second time it becomes $200, and the third year it is $100. Besides these, you should also pay $25 for each test.

To summarize, there are several categories and subcategories of Michigan contractor licenses. So you need nothing but be very attentive to orient which type is the best fit for you. Also, you can look through our other articles to get informed about licensing processes in other states like Alabama or Ohio.

Evelina V

Evelina V

Evelina is a junior content writer with high tech skills. She has been working as a computer operator, secretary and English language teacher for a long period of time. However, she never gets enough of studying and enhancing her skills. Now, she writes SEO-friendly and original content for different websites and blogs.