Do you want to work legally in one of the most exciting professions in Michigan? If you are ready for new experiments, discoveries, and unpredictable events, then this job will interest you. But before all this, you need to get a Michigan private investigator license.
As in other US states, there are some requirements here, as well. Each applicant must satisfy them and then obtain the permit. In this article, we will discuss all the details on how to apply, how much to pay, and how to get the license and finally work in this occupation.
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) is the responsible building for the certification process. The department manages and regulates the rules that each applicant must meet before getting a permit for operating.
Here is some additional information about the department in case you have specific questions to ask:
2407 N. Grand River Avenue
Lansing, MI 48906
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909
An applicant must be a legal resident or citizen of the United States and at least 25 years old. He must have gained at least a high school education or something similar to it. Candidates should present five character references and a Certificate of Corporation. These references should be written by Michigan citizens who are not related to that person; neither by birth nor by marriage.
The applicant must have a good moral and legal status. He may not be illegally discharged from the United States military service. He must have never been accused of fraud or dishonesty, or in any way obstructed the security of the U.S. residents.
In this state, mental health issues are not yet a subject for disqualification. In contrast, two or more alcohol-related offenses or charges are a serious problem. The same applies to the use of illicit drugs and arrests by these accusations, as well as illegally possessing or just carrying a weapon.
Note: The provided information on your criminal background must be precise and does not contain any lies. Keep in mind that the department will examine every small detail and if you have lied to them, you will get an automatic disqualification.
Though Michigan does not require an exam to pass, it has some stated amount of work experience to fulfill. So, each applicant must own at least 3 years of full-time experience in one of the following fields:
Conducting some works in investigative or intelligence activities; such as the following professions:
If you have a bachelor’s degree or higher in one of the following fields, you can meet the minimum requirements, as well:
After satisfying the minimum requirements, you may already apply for the license. With the completed application you should introduce the following:
If you are currently working as an officer in law enforcement, you should present one of the following documents in order to get a Michigan license from the Department:
For all types of PI licenses in Michigan, there is the same fee of $750. People who want personal or business permits pay the same price. It is very important to make the payment on time by submitting the application form.
Be attentive as you will get a message in the mail when your permit expires. Do not forget to pay the renewal fee of $350.
The job of detectives and PIs in the state is really satisfying and full of new experiments and knowledge. No one can get bored with such an interesting job and constantly-changing events. However, if we skip the exciting and interesting part, the job is also quite profitable.
Medium-paid private investigators earn about $40,000 and more annually. While the well-paid ones reach about $70,000 annual salary.
So, if you are really interested in this profession and you like it, then do not miss such an opportunity. What could be better than doing your favorite job and earning a lot of money?